Stannye Baringer,, 904-519-8844

Board Liaison: 
Paige Kelton Frakes

Barbara Smith
Julia Watkins

Directory/Email Database:
Gene Curtin

Jyothi Shroff

Communications Support:
Modupe Arubuola
Kristen Anderson
Jamie Karpman
Karen Miracle

Welcome Ambassadors: 
Amanda Kieck
Brenda Shirkey
Stacy Watson May
Doug Harlan ( Edgewater only)

Meeting:  Third Wednesday monthly at 7 PM at the Club


Communications News

  • DCCOA Website Changes

    May 2018

    Over the past two months the Communications Committee has been very busy updating our website to make it a little more user friendly and, most importantly, provide each residents with important Association information and activities in a timely manner. The Website contains far more information than the monthly Newsletter and is generally. We continue to post more and more information here to ensure you stay in tune with Board and Committee events.

    Below is a list of all the changes that have been made: 

    • All Board and Committee information is current. Whenever a change occurs, our website is updated just a few days later; please use our website as your source of information as it will always be the most up-to-date.
    • A new tab has been created called DCCOA DOCUMENTS. The Policies and Procedures document, now called the Board and Committee Policies and Procedures, was reformatted, changed, approved by the Board and updated in March. It more clearly defines the roles of the Board and Committees. All versions of all of our governing documents will be archived on our website so residents can access that information. Once the website is password protected, all governing documents will remain on the public side so potential buyers have access to how our community operates.
    • We are now posting all Board Approved Minutes to the website. The Board of Director Highlights are posted after each meeting on the Home page of the website about a week after the meeting. We provide this information so you quickly know what items were discussed and action taken at the Board meeting. The official minutes from each meeting are approved at the following month’s Board meeting. To see the Board meeting Minutes click on the DCCOA tab, then Board of Directors and on the right side of the page as you scroll down you will see BOARD MEETING MIUTES and a link to each month minutes starting with March 2018.
    • In conjunction with the Committee Fair, a document was created that summarizes each committee’s charter and tasks and provides Chair contact info and meeting times. A new tab was created called COMMITTEE INFORMATION and general committee information will be located there including the Committee Summary document. Click DCCOA, then COMMITTEE INFORMATION. 
    • The INFORMATION tab includes a total of 11 menus, two of which names have changed and information updated. The former Teen Services menu has been changed to Resident Services to broaden the scope of the services residents are offering. We have updated how information gets changed and also added a new email address residents should use when communicating those requests. The former Maintenance Services menu has been changed to Resident Referrals and the list greatly expanded to include screen enclosures, pavers, roofing companies, painters, plumbers, etc. All of these names were obtained from various community social media outlets.
    • The Quarterly Assessment information found under the DCCOA tab has been greatly expanded to reflect the number of ways in which residents can pay their assessment and mirrors to a large extent the coupon information residents received from Marsh Landing.

    What’s Coming Next?

    Because most of the Board and Committee members’ contact information is posted on our website to give you easy access in case you need to call one of us, it is on the public internet and available to anyone who seeks to hack, spam or scam. We are all volunteers and want to help the community, but prefer to limit our personal contact information. Many gated communities with HOA’s that have websites have a secured website to protect what is considered non-public information.

    Sometime this summer, we plan to password protect a few of the tabs on the website. This will involve sharing one password for the entire community. No, it does not fall under the definition of secure – just helps keep emails and phone numbers and some of the community’s affairs from appearing on the public internet and out of sight from hackers. Anyone bound and determined to do harm, will not be stopped, just a bit delayed.

    We will communicate, via email, and the Newsletter before that change occurs. Once password protected, residents will need to enter that password before certain information, such as the DCCOA Board and committee information and the newly changed Resident Services and Referral information can be seen. The DCCOA Documents, Social tabs and current ARB policy and guideline information will remain public.

  • Will You Help?

    We need a volunteer Editor to assist with coordinating incoming articles, proofreading and editing monthly. This person will become a member of the Deercreek Communications Committee. Sounds like something you'd love to be a part of?

    Consider volunteering for a few months to test it out before committing for the long haul. Check us out and discover another great way to get to know your neighbors, serve and make new friends. Will you join us?

  • The Communications Committee needs VOLUNTEERS!!

    Your Deercreek Homeowners’ Association needs volunteers as follows:

    1. Editor: to assist with coordinating incoming articles, proofreading and editing monthly. This person will become a member of the Communications Committee which is responsible for all email blasts, the monthly newsletter, the website, electronic signboard, annual resident directory, the HOA mailbox, the Ambassador program, and other communication matters.

    Sounds like something you'd love to be a part of? Consider volunteering for a few months to test it out before committing for the long haul. We invite you to join the Communications team that tackles these vital roles in our community. It’s a great way to get to know your neighbors and make new friends.Will you join us? Send an email to

    2. Deercreek Ambassadors:

    We need volunteers for the 'Deercreek Ambassadors Team’. This team has the fun task of visiting and welcoming new residents into the community. What a way to meet people and make friends! The Ambassadors provide new residents with vital information such as what fun groups and social activities are available in our community [like the Home and Garden Club, Women's Alliance, Literary Circle, Maj Jong, Bunco, Bridge, Ladies Golf, Ladies Tennis Associations etc], who to contact for certain issues and some basic resident rules & regulations to make their transition smooth.

    A personalized approach to welcoming new residents goes a long way in giving them a sense of belonging; it also helps us grow a fully engaged community of residents.

    We are looking for Volunteers to build this team and help develop Deercreek into an even more vibrant and friendly community. Would you like to join us? Please send an e-mail to Can't wait to hear from you!

RSS Feed

Appreciation Lunch for Carol D'Onofrio

After 18 years of diligent and outstanding service in various roles on the Communications Committee, Carol D'Onofrio recently stepped aside as Chair to focus her efforts on some new projects. The committee came together on Wed May 17th for a luncheon in honor of Carol, there she was presented with a plaque and flowers in appreciation of her service to the community. Several members of the Board of Directors were also present, as well as the President, Margie Blake.